Acta Cryst. (1972). A28, 474

The (Q,ω) transmission function of a triple-axis neutron spectrometer. Erratum. By G. QUITTNER, Institut für Physik, Reaktorzentrum Seibersdorf, Österreichische Studiengesellschaft für Atomenergie, Lenaugasse 10, A-1802 Vienna, Austria

(Received 8 May 1972)

The correct form is given for equation (26) in Acta Cryst. (1971). A 27, 605.

An error has been found in the paper by Quittner (1971). The correct form of equation (26) is:

$$\begin{split} \text{NTIF} &= \frac{P_M(k_0) \cdot P_A(k_1) \cdot \varepsilon(k_1) \cdot \pi}{(k_0)^3 \cdot 2Q_0} \\ &\times \left\{ W_0 \left(\frac{1}{k_{0M}^2 s_{VM}^2} + \frac{1}{k_{0A}^2 s_{VA}} \right) \left(\frac{1 + 4 \sin^2 \theta_{0M} \beta_{MV}^2}{\alpha_{1V}^2} \right) \\ &\times \left(1 + \frac{4 \sin^2 \theta_{0A} \beta_{AV}^2}{\alpha_{4V}^2} \right) \right\}^{-1/2} \end{split}$$
where

where

$$s_{VM} = \left(\frac{1}{\alpha_{1V}^2 + 4\sin^2\theta_{0M}\beta_{MV}^2} + \frac{1}{\alpha_{2V}^2}\right)^{-1/2}$$
$$s_{VA} = \left(\frac{1}{\alpha_{4V}^2 + 4\sin^2\theta_{0A}\beta_{AV}^2} + \frac{1}{\alpha_{3V}^2}\right)^{-1/2}$$

and α_{1V} , β_{MV} etc. are vertical angular widths corresponding to the horizontal angular widths α_1 , β_M etc. [The factors

$$\left(1 + \frac{4\sin^2\theta_{0M}\beta_{MV}^2}{\alpha_{1V}^2}\right)^{-1/2}$$
 and $\left(1 + \frac{4\sin^2\theta_{0A}\beta_{AV}^2}{\alpha_{4V}^2}\right)^{-1/2}$

have been recently emphasized by B. Dorner (to be published).] For two-dimensional Q's the amplitude of the transmission function is the factor before the exponential in equation (25). Other formulae and conclusions are not affected by this error.

Reference

OUITTNER, G. (1971). Acta Cryst. A27, 605.

International Union of Crystallography

Commission on Neutron Diffraction

The Commission on Neutron Diffraction of the International Union of Crystallography announces the establishment of an information service to provide rapid dissemination of magnetic structure data among neutron diffractionists and other scientists in related fields. The service will take the form of magnetic structure data sheets distributed quarterly to subscribers, starting in the summer of 1972. The data, supplied by neutron diffractionists working in the field, will be edited to provide uniformity of style and will be recorded in summary form on data sheets suitably classified for insertion into a loose-leaf binder according to a scheme similar to that used in Wyckoff's Crystal Structures. The data sheets are not intended to substitute for normal publication; information will be accepted for distribution at the time a report of the research is submitted either for publication or presentation at a meeting. The service is to be directed by David Cox and will be operated on a non-profit basis; a charge of \$15 for individuals and \$25 for libraries will be made to cover operating expenses. Requests for subscriptions should be sent to MSDS, Neutron Diffraction Commission, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, Long Island, New York 11973, U.S.A. Cheques or money orders should be made payable to 'MSDS, Neutron Diffraction Commission'. Local currency will be accepted but payment in dollars will be appreciated for ease of handling.

Notes and News

Announcements and other items of crystallographic interest will be published under this heading at the discretion of the Editorial Board. The notes (in duplicate) should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King, International Union of Crystallography, 13 White Friars, Chester CH1 1NZ, England).

The Warren Award

The second presentation of the Bertram Eugene Warren Diffraction Physics Award will be made at the meeting of the American Crystallographic Association to be held at Storrs, Connecticut in June, 1973.

This award was established by students and friends of Professor Warren on the occasion of his retirement from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. It is given for an important recent contribution to the physics of solids or liquids using X-ray, neutron, or electron diffraction techniques. This includes work such as, for example, elastic or inelastic scattering studies of imperfections in crystals, or studies of liquids or amorphous materials, or developments in diffraction theory or techniques appropriate to such problems; it does not include crystal structure determinations. The work for which this second Award will be made must have been published between July 1, 1966 and June 30, 1972. There are no restrictions as to age, experience or nationality of recipients. The award consists of a certificate and \$1000 and is to be given every three years.

The committee appointed to select the 1973 award recipient [B. W. Batterman, J. M. Cowley (Chairman), A. Guinier, M. Hart with ex officio members J. Karle and W. L. Roth] will welcome suggestions of possible recipients from any interested persons. Suggestions may be addressed to Professor J. M. Cowley, Department of Physics, Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona 85281, U.S.A.