SHORT COMMUNICATIONS

Contributions intended for publication under this heading should be expressly so marked; they should not exceed about 1000 words; they should be forwarded in the usual way to the appropriate Co-editor; they will be published as speedily as possible.

Acta Cryst. (1981). A37, 921

The effect of data truncation on the measurability of Bijvoet differences: erratum. By S. Parthasarathy and M. N. Ponnuswamy, Department of Crystallography and Biophysics, University of Madras, Guindy Campus, Madras-600025, India

(Received 6 August 1981)

Abstract

In Table 2 of Parthasarathy & Ponnuswamy [Acta Cryst. (1981), A37, 153–162], for every value of k, the row against $y_t = 0.3$ for P = 1 and the row against $y_t = 0.3$ for P = MC are to be interchanged.

All relevant information is given in the Abstract.

Acta Cryst. (1981). A37, 921

Space-group notation with an explicit origin: erratum. By S. R. Hall, Crystallography Centre, University of Western Australia, Nedlands 6009, Australia

(Received 17 September 1981)

Abstract

In Hall [Acta Cryst. (1981), A37, 517-525] there are two errors in Table 7 on page 524. The proposed notation for proposed orders 144 and 157 should be $P\bar{3}$ and $\bar{P}32$.

All relevant information is given in the Abstract.

Notes and News

Acta Cryst. (1981) A37, 921

The B. E. Warren Diffraction Physics Award

The fifth Bertram Eugene Warren Diffraction Physics Award will be presented at the meeting of the American Crystallographic Association in Gaithersburg, Maryland in March 1982.

This award was established by students and friends of Professor Warren on the occasion of his retirement from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. It is to be given for an important recent contribution to the physics of solids or liquids using X-ray, neutron, or electron diffraction techniques. This includes work such as elastic or inelastic scattering studies of imperfections in crystals, or studies of liquids or amorphous materials, or developments in the diffraction theory or techniques appropriate to such

problems, to give a few examples; it does not include crystal structure determinations. Previous recipients of the award have been U. Bonse and M. Hart (1970), J. D. Axe and G. Shirane (1973), J. M. Cowley and S. Iijima (1976) and F. W. Lytle, D. E. Sayres and E. A. Stern (1979).

Work that is to be eligible for this award must have been published between 1 July 1975 and 30 June 1981. There are no restrictions as to age, experience, or nationality of recipients. The award consists of a certificate and \$1000 and is to be given every three years.

The following committee has been appointed to select the 1982 award recipient: D. L. Evans, W. B. Yelon and B. J. Wuensch, Chairman.

The selection committee will welcome suggestions for possible recipients by 1 January 1982 from any interested persons. Suggestions should be addressed to Professor B. J. Wuensch, Room 13-4037, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139, USA.

0567-7394/81/060921-01\$01.00

© 1981 International Union of Crystallography