References

COX, J. M. (1967). J. Mol. Biol. 28, 151-156.
DIAMOND, R. (1988). Acta Cryst. A44, 211-216.
HENDRICKSON, W. A. (1979). Acta Cryst. A35, 158-163.
HONZATKO, R. B. (1986). Acta Cryst. A42, 172-178.
KABSCH, W. (1976). Acta Cryst. A32, 922-923.
KABSCH, W. (1978). Acta Cryst. A34, 827-828.

KENKNIGHT, C. E. (1984). Acta Cryst. A40, 708-712. LESK, A. M. (1986). Acta Cryst. A42, 110-113. MACKAY, A. L. (1984). Acta Cryst. A40, 165-166. MCLACHLAN, A. D. (1972). Acta Cryst. A28, 656-657. MCLACHLAN, A. D. (1979). J. Mol. Biol. 128, 49-79. NYBURG, S. C. (1974). Acta Cryst. B30, 251-253. RAO, S. T. & ROSSMANN, M. G. (1973). J. Mol. Biol. 76, 241-256. SCHERINGER, C. (1971). Acta Cryst. B27, 1470-1472.

Acta Cryst. (1989). A45, 210

Space groups rare for organic structures. Erratum. By A. J. C. WILSON, Crystallographic Data Centre, University Chemical Laboratory, Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EW, England.

(Received 28 November 1988)

Abstract

should read

 $\langle p \rangle = 1/(N+2) \simeq N^{-1}. \tag{A3}$

There is an error in the Appendix of the paper by Wilson [Acta Cryst. (1988), A44, 715-724]. Equation (A3)

All relevant information is given in the Abstract.

International Union of Crystallography

Acta Cryst. (1989). A45, 210

Nominations for the Ewald Prize

The International Union of Crystallography is pleased to invite nominations for the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. The Prize is named after Professor Paul P. Ewald, in recognition of his significant contributions to the foundations of crystallography and to the founding of the International Union of Crystallography. Professor Ewald was the President of the Provisional International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, the first Editor of the Union's publication Acta Crystallographica from 1948 to 1959 and the President of the Union from 1960 to 1963.

The Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a financial award. It is presented once every three years during the triennial International Congresses of Crystallography. The first Prize was presented at the XIV Congress in Perth, Australia, in 1987. The second Prize, for which nominations are now being invited, will be presented at the XV Congress in Bordeaux, France, in July 1990.

Scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography are eligible for the Ewald Prize, irrespective of nationality, age or experience. The only exceptions are the current members of the Prize Selection Committee and the President of the Union, none of whom are eligible. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of the nominee's contributions. The Prize may be shared by more than one contributor to the same scientific achievement.

Nominations for the Ewald Prize should be submitted in writing, preferably using the Ewald Prize Nomination Form and accompanied by supporting documentation, to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England, from whom copies of the Nomination Form, the names of the Selection Committee and advice on the submission of nominations may be obtained. The closing date for nominations is 31 August 1989.

M. NARDELLI President

A. I. HORDVIK General Secretary

Notes and News

Acta Cryst. (1989). A45, 210-211

European Microbeam Analysis Society

The European Microbeam Analysis Society (E-MAS) was founded in 1987 as a scientific society focusing on ultrastructural analysis methodology, with primary interests in education, communication and innovation. The Society summarizes its aims and scope as follows:

The Society has been founded to meet the growing need and demands of microbeam analysis users and scientists for further education, communication and counselling. The Society is independent but wants to cooperate in a synergic way with national groups and European societies with related interests. The Society applies to scientists and technicians active in the development and application of micro-

0108-7673/89/020210-01\$03.00

© 1989 International Union of Crystallography