[Open access]

Acta Cryst. (2013). E69, i17
[ doi:10.1107/S1600536813003541 ]

Barium dierbium(III) tetrasulfide

A. Mesbah, W. Stojko and J. A. Ibers

Abstract: Barium dierbium(III) tetrasulfide, BaEr2S4, crystallizes with four formula units in the orthorhombic space group Pnma in the CaFe2O4 structure type. The asymmetric unit contains two Er, one Ba, and four S atoms, each with .m. site symmetry. The structure consists of channels formed by corner- and edge-sharing ErS6 octahedra in which Ba atoms reside. The resultant coordination of Ba is that of a bicapped trigonal prism.

Copyright © International Union of Crystallography
IUCr Webmaster