prehensive from 1935 to 1 January 1969 and there are 500 additional references to 1969 publications. Volume 1 deals with general organic crystal structures and Volume 2 with complexes, organo-metals and metalloids. Entries are arranged in chemical classes with extensive cross-references. Individual compounds can be located through the formula or metal index and there is also an author index. The bibliography is the first attempt at bringing together all publications on related structures and

provides a survey to the various areas of organic and organometallic chemistry which have been investigated by X-ray and neutron diffraction methods.

The series is published for the Union, in conjunction with the Crystallographic Data Centre, by A. Oosthoek's Uitgevers Mij N.V., Doomstraat 5–13, Utrecht, The Netherlands, from whom the first two volumes may now be obtained. Volume 1 costs 45 Netherlands Guilders (U.S. \$12.50 or £5.25 at the present rates of exchange) and Volume 2 costs

35 Netherlands Guilders (U.S. \$10.00 or £4·20). Copies for the personal use of scientists may be obtained at the reduced prices of 32 Netherlands Guilders (U.S. \$9.00 or £3·75) for Volume 1 and 27 Netherlands Guilders (U.S. \$7.50 or £3·15) for Volume 2. All prices include postal charges. Copies may also be obtained from Polycrystal Book Service, P.O. Box 11567, Pittsburgh, Pa. 15238, U.S.A., or through any bookseller. Standing orders can be placed for future volumes.

## artin J. Buerger, Professor Emeritus Dr M. R. Truter has been a Professor of Chemistry by the loggy and University Professor at Management of London Shalis Deput

Dr M. R. Truter has been appointed a Professor of Chemistry by the University of London. She is Deputy Director of the Agricultural Research Council's Unit of Structural Chemistry, a part of the Chemistry Department of University College.

Crystallographers

Professor Dorothy Hodgkin has been appointed Chancellor of the University of Bristol (England), the highest officer of the University. The post is an honorary one, and she continues her scientific work at the Chemical Crystallography Laboratory, Oxford. Professor Hodgkin, who was awarded the Nobel prize for chemistry in 1964, is a member of the Executive Committee of the International Union of Crystallography.

Dr Kohji Shimaoka has returned to the Institute for Solid State Physics, University of Tokyo, after having spent one year with Dr L. D. Calvert at the National Research Council Laboratories, Ottawa, Canada.

Professor K. N. Trueblood has been appointed Dean of the College of Letters and Science at the University of California, Los Angeles. He has been chairman of the Chemistry Department for several years.

Professor C. N. J. Wagner has taken up his new duties as Professor of Materials Science at the University of California, Los Angeles. Professor Wagner was formerly a Professor of Metallurgy at Yale University.

Dr W. T. Holser has accepted an appointment as a Professor of Geology at the University of Oregon, Eugene,

Oregon. Formerly with the Chevron Oil Field Research Company, Dr Holser will be known to many readers as the Editor of the *American Mineralogist*.

Dr James W. Edmonds, formerly of Brookhaven National Laboratory, has accepted a position as Senior Crystallographic Programmer at the State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, New York.

After many years at the Naval Research Laboratory, Dr Herbert A. Hauptman has taken up combined duties as Head, Mathematical Biophysics Laboratory, Medical Foundation of Buffalo and as a Research Professor of Biophysical Sciences, State University of New York at Buffalo.

Dr Don F. Koenig of Brookhaven National Laboratories is spending an extended term as a guest researcher and lecturer with Professor Peder Kierkegaard and Professor Arne Magnéli at the University of Stockholm.

In September 1971 Dr W. H. Taylor will retire from the position of Reader in Crystallography at the University of Cambridge (England). The Crystallography Group of The Institute of Physics and The Physical Society and The Mineralogical Society are jointly holding a one-day conference in his honour at the Cavendish Laboratory on 10 December, and on the same day a Conference Dinner will be held in St. John's College. The topics to be discussed at the morning and afternoon sessions. Framework Silicates and Metals, have been of particular interest to Dr Taylor.

Martin J. Buerger, Professor Emeritus at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and University Professor of Materials Science at the University of Connecticut, is the recipient of the first Fankuchen Memorial Award. Established by former students, colleagues and friends in honor of the late Professor Isidor Fankuchen, the award is given once every three years for outstanding contributions in the teaching and practice of crystallography. It carries both a monetary award and the requirement that the recipient give lectures at several institutions of higher learning. Administered by the American Crystallographic Association, the award was presented to Professor Buerger on 2 February 1971 during the Association's meeting at the University of South Carolina in Columbia, South Carolina.

Elected to take office in the American Crystallographic Association in 1971 are Jerome Karle, Vice President, and Henderson Cole, Treasurer. Other officers during 1971 are William R. Busing, President; David P. Shoemaker, Past President; and Walter L. Roth, Secretary.

Professor A. Guinier has been honored with election to membership in the French Academy of Sciences. A member of the Faculté des Sciences, Orsay, of the University of Paris, Professor Guinier is the President of the International Union of Crystallography.

Dr Paul G. Simpson, formerly with Stanford University, has accepted an appointment as an Associate Professor of Chemistry at Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon.