Crystallographers

This section is intended to be a series of short paragraphs dealing with the activities of crystallographers, such as their changes of position, promotions, assumption of significant new duties, honours, etc. Items for inclusion, subject to the approval of the Editorial Board, should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King. International Union of Crystallography, 13 White Friars, Chester CH1 INZ, England).

Professor W. N. Lipscomb, Professor of Chemistry at Harvard University since 1959, has been awarded the 1976 Nobel prize in Chemistry for his studies of boranes which have illuminated problems of chemical bonding. Professor Lipscomb's theoretical and experimental work over a period of more than 25 years has had a major impact, not only on the field of boron chemistry but on many other fields, because of its advancement of the fundamental understanding of the chemical bond. Whilst studying for his PhD. which he received in 1946 at the California Institute of Technology, he became interested in the structures of the higher boranes. Most of the structure determinations had to be made at low temperatures and the work necessitated the development of special techniques to handle compounds which were volatile, unstable and occasionally exploded on contact with air. Professor Lipscomb applied the ideas of the bridged structure and the three-centre bond to predict the structures of higher boranes, using topological arrangements of two- and three-centre bonds. This theoretical work has been of fundamental importance not only in boron chemistry but also in the chemistry of other electron-deficient compounds, having a great impact in organic, organometallic and polymer chemistry.

Dr **D. M. Blow,** MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, has been appointed Professor of Biophysics in the Department of Physics at Imperial College, London. Dr Blow will take up his appointment in April 1977.

Dr W. L. Bond, Stanford University, USA, has been awarded the Edward Longstreth Medal of the Franklin Institute for his contributions to the science and practice of crystallography.

Professor **Dorothy Hodgkin,** Wolfson Research Professor of the Royal Society and Immediate Past President of the International Union of Crystallography, has been awarded the Copley Medal of the Royal Society.

Dr Carroll K. Johnson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee, is President of the American Crystallographic

Association for 1977. Professor **Philip Coppens,** Chemistry Department at the State University of New York at Buffalo, has been elected Vice-President and will succeed Dr Johnson as President in 1978. Professor **D. K. Smith** continues to serve as Secretary and Professor **C. N. Caughlan** has been re-elected Treasurer.

Dr E. R. Pike, Royal Signals and Radar Establishment, Great Malvern, England, has been elected a member of the Council of the Institute of Physics.

International Union of Crystallography

Eleventh General Assembly and International Congress of Crystallography

By invitaion of the Polish Academy of Sciences the Eleventh General Assembly and International Congress of Crystallography will be held in Warsaw, Poland, 3–12 August 1978.

The arrangement of the scientific programme will in general be similar to that of the Tenth Congress held in Amsterdam in 1975. There will be General Lectures, Scientific Sessions on topics of interest for today's crystallography, chemistry and solid-state physics, Poster Sessions, Open Sessions of Commissions of the Union and ad hoc meetings. Participants will be invited to submit abstracts of recent work on crystallographic subjects. Upon acceptance, these contributions will be printed in the book of abstracts of the Congress. For oral presentation in the formal scientific sessions or for the poster sessions, a selection will be made from the papers lying within the range of the Congress topics. The ad hoc meetings are intended mainly to encourage free discussion.

An exhibition of non-commercial equipment, and of photographs and drawings of crystallographic interest will be held during the Congress. More detailed information can be obtained from the Organizing Committee. A commercial exhibition will be organized in which manufacturers and distributors of equipment related to crystallographic research may display their products. Further information can be obtained from the Organizing Committee. For the accompanying members, a choice of tours will be offered. The details of this programme and the social programme will be published in the First Circular. Travel information can be obtained from the offices of Polish Airlines LOT and Polish Travel Office ORBIS.

Professor J. Auleytner is Chairman of the Organizing Committee. Other members are Dr J. Leciejewicz (Vice-Chairman), Dr Z. Galdecki and Dr T. Warmiński (Secretary). Correspondence should be addressed to the secretariat at the following address:

Eleventh International Congress of Crystallography Polish Academy of Sciences Institute of Physics IF PAN SL-1 Al. Lotników 32/46, Pawilon 9 02-668 Warszawa Poland

Telephone: Warszawa 43 60 34. Telex: 81 24 64.

Further details of the Congress, including arrangements for registration, accommodation, scientific visits, etc., will be published in the First Circular, which will be distributed in the second half of 1977. Persons interested in receiving the First Circular are requested to complete an application card and return it to the Organizing Committee before 1 June 1977. Application cards may be obtained from the Secretaries of the National Committees for Crystallography or from the Organizing Committee. Please bring this announcement to the notice of your colleagues.

Notes and News

Announcements and other items of crystallographic interest will be published under this heading at the discretion of the Editorial Board. The notes (in duplicate) should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King, International Union of Crystallography, 13 White Friars. Chester CH1 1N7 England)

European Crystallographic Committee

The European crystallographers, through the European Crystallographic Committee, invite colleagues in developing countries to join in co-operation schemes. The purpose of the cooperation is to exchange information, teaching material and staff, to share facilities such as data collecting apparatus, to assist potential buyers of equipment to contact the main suppliers and to set up joint research programmes.

Active crystallographers and/or departments with crystallography groups, who are interested in such a co-operation scheme are invited to contact either Professor Dr D. Feil, Chemical Physics Laboratory, Twente University of Technology, P.O. Box 217, Enschede, The Netherlands or the President of the European Crystallographic Committee, Dr O. Kennard, University Chemical Laboratory, Lensfield Road, Cambridge CB2 1EW, England.