Table 1. Code numbers used in classifying low-temperature X-ray diffraction apparatus and techniques

First digit: type of sample that can be studied

- (1) Any type
- (2) Single crystal
- (3) Powder
- (4) Metal
- (5) Protein
- (6) Neutron diffraction

Second digit: type of cooling used

- (1) Cold-gas stream
- (2) Conduction (cryogenic fluid as coolant)
- (3) Conduction (thermoelectric cooling)
- (4) Conduction (mechanical refrigeration)
- (5) Joule–Thomson expansion
- (6) Immersion of sample
- (7) Immersion of camera
- (8) Use of cold room

Third digit: method of frost prevention

- (1) Dry gas stream
- (2) Dry chamber
- (3) Evacuated chamber
- (4) Not given
- (5) None

Fourth digit: minimum temperature attainable (Kelvin)

- (1) Less than 20
- (2) 20-78
- (3) 78-200
- (4) 200-260
- (5) Greater than 260
- (6) Not available

Fifth digit: type of X-ray instrument mentioned

- (0) Any type
- (1) Debye-Scherrer camera (includes back-reflection)
- (2) Flat-cassette and Laue cameras
- (3) Guinier camera
- (4) Oscillation-rotation camera
- (5) Weissenberg goniometer
- (6) Precession camera
- (7) Diffractometer
- (8) Small-angle
- (9) Topographic studies

Sixth digit: special characteristics

- (0) None
- (1) Horizontal
- (2) Vertical
- (3) Back-reflection
- (4) High-temperature also
- (5) High-pressure also
- (6) Weissenberg goniometer accessories
- (7) Cold-working at low temperatures

cooling is used, category 5 in the list where the references are sorted on the

basis of the *second* digit of the code number would be examined.

(c) If one has a need for a particular kind of LTXRD device, it is possible to 'design' this instrument by constructing the suitable six-digit code number. A check of the six-digit listing will reveal whether or not a similar instrument has actually been constructed.

Proper reporting of LTXRD apparatus and the use of this bibliography should greatly reduce duplication of effort and wasted man-hours in the design and construction of LTXRD instrumentation.

REUBEN RUDMAN

Chemistry Department Adelphi University Garden City NY 11530 USA

(Received 9 December 1976; accepted 15 January 1977)

Reference

Rudman, R. (1976). Low-Temperature Xray Diffraction: Apparatus and Techniques. New York: Plenum.

Crystallographers

This section is intended to be a series of short paragraphs dealing with the activities of crystallographers, such as their changes of position, promotions, assumption of significant new duties, honours, etc. Items for inclusion, subject to the approval of the Editorial Board, should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King, International Union of Crystallography, 13 White Friars, Chester CH1 1NZ, England).

Sir Alan Cottrell, Master of Jesus College, University of Cambridge, has been appointed a Vice-President of the Royal Society. He has also been awarded the 1977 Guthrie Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics for his many contributions to the science of metals.

Professor **Dorothy Hodgkin**, Wolfson Research Professor of the Royal Society and Immediate Past President of the IUCr, received the Fankuchen Award of the American Crystallographic Association at the ACA's spring meeting held in Asilomar, California, in February 1977. The award, which is given every three years, was made to Professor Hodgkin for her 'outstanding contributions to the teaching of crystallography and for fundamental and fruitful investigations in the many areas of crystal-structure analysis'. The award was established in 1970 by former students and friends of Professor **Isidor Fankuchen** (1904–1964) to honour his memory and his many contributions in a way in which he, himself, would have thought to be particularly appropriate. In addition to presenting her lecture *Water and Protein Molecules: The Case* of *Insulin* at the ACA meeting, Professor Hodgkin also presented it at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, where ProfessorFankuchen wasProfessorofPhysics (1942–1964).

Sir **James Menter**, Principal of Queen Mary College, University of London, has been awarded the 1977 Glazebrook Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics for his contributions to industrial research.

Dr **R. F. Pearson** of Mullard Research Laboratories, Redhill, England, has been awarded the 1977 Duddell Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics for his contribution to the understanding of the crystal anisotropy and other single crystal properties of substituted ferrimagnetic substances.

Professor **D. C. Phillips**, Professor of Molecular Biology at the University of Oxford, has been appointed a Vice-President of the Royal Society. He has also been elected Biological Secretary of the Royal Society, to succeed Sir **Bernard Katz**.

Erratum

We regret the unfortunate error in the announcement (*Crystallographers*, December 1976 issue) concerning the **Bertram E. Warren Award** presented to Dr **S. lijima** and Professor **J. M. Cowley.** The award is *not* sponsored by IBM, a corporate entity, but by the individual personal contributions of Professor Warren's students and friends on the occasion of his retirement from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1967. The fund is wholly managed by the American Crystallographic Association and the earnings from it permit the giving of this award every third year.

International Union of Crystallography

Establishment of a President's Fund

At the Tenth General Assembly of the Union, held in Amsterdam in August