As a result of a suggestion from the Bragg Lecture Fund committee. the Kathleen Lonsdale Lectures have been established by the British Crystallographic Association to commemorate her achievements. These lectures are intended to educate the public in the science of crystallography and will be given at the annual meetings of the British Association. The first one will be at 2 p.m. on 27 August 1987 at the British Association meeting in Belfast, Northern Ireland, and will be open to the public. The lecture will be given by Professor David Blow and the title of the lecture is 'Protein Crystallography Applied to Medicine and Industry'.

The Chemistry award of the Wolf prize this year will be shared by two macromolecular crystallographers: Professor Sir David Phillips, Laboratory of Molecular Biophysics, Department of Zoology, University of Oxford, England, and Professor D. M. Blow, Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, England. They are cited for their pioneering contributions to the understanding of enzymatic catalysis through the study of enzyme structure by X-ray diffraction. The award, which is considered in the class of the Nobel, Lasker and Welch prizes, will be presented in the late spring in Israel

Dr M. F. Perutz, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, England, and Sir John Kendrew, St John's College, Oxford, England, were presented the 1987 Distinguished Service Award of the Miami Winter Symposium in honour of their contributions toward promoting international cooperation between biological scientists. In particular, they were cited for their support of the founding and growth of the European Molecular Biology Organization, now in its 24th year. In 1962, Dr Perutz and Sir John Kendrew jointly received the Nobel Prize in medicine, Dr Perutz for his work on determining the three-dimensional structure of hemoglobin through X-ray diffraction and Sir John for similar work on myoglobin.

International Union of Crystallography

J. Appl. Cryst. (1987). 20, 325

The Ewald Prize

The first Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystal-

lography has been awarded jointly to Professor **J. M. Cowley** and Dr **A. F. Moodie**, for their outstanding achievements in electron diffraction and microscopy, especially for their fundamental contributions to the theory and technique of direct imaging of crystal structures and structure defects by high-resolution electron microscopy.

Their pioneering work on the dynamical scattering of electrons was reported in a series of papers in Acta Crystallographica and other journals from 1957 onwards. A theory of Fourier images led them to the multi-slice formulation of the scattering of an electron wave in its passage through a crystal. This formulation is able to take into account many hundreds of scattered beams, and has become the basis of widely used computer programs. The theory allows the electron micrographs, obtained with modern high-resolution instruments, to be reliably and quantitatively interpreted, and used for the determination of the structures of both perfect crystals and crystals containing defects.

Professor Cowley and Dr Moodie, together and separately, have made many further contributions to theory, methods and results in electron diffraction and microscopy. Their work has often stressed a unified approach to diffraction and microscopy through physical optics. An overview of the whole field may be found in Professor Cowley's book *Diffraction Physics* [(1981). Amsterdam: North-Holland].

John Maxwell Cowley, born in Australia in 1923 and a graduate of Adelaide University, was formerly a Chief Research Scientist at the Division of Chemical Physics, CSIRO, Melbourne, Australia. Later he was Professor of Physics at the University of Melbourne, and since 1970 has been the Galvin Professor of Physics at Arizona State University, Tempe, USA.

Alexander Forbes Moodie, born in Scotland in 1923, graduated from St Andrews University in 1948. Since then he has been a member of CSIRO in Australia where he is a Chief Research Scientist at the Division of Chemical Physics. This Division was incorporated into the Division of Materials Science and Technology at the end of 1986.

The presentation of the Ewald Prize, which consists of a medal and a certificate for each awardee and a shared award of US \$20 000, will take place at the Opening Ceremony of the XIV International Congress of Crystallography at Perth, Western Australia, on 12 August 1987. An honorary medal will also be presented to the Ewald family during the ceremony.

New Commercial Products

Announcements of new commercial products are published by the Journal of Applied Crystallography free of charge. The descriptions, up to 300 words or the equivalent if a ligure is included, should give the price and the manulacturer's full address. Full or partial inclusion is subject to the Editor's approval and to the space available. All correspondence should be sent to the Editor, Professor M. Schlenker, Editor Journal of Applied Crystallography, Laboratoire Louis Néel du CNRS, BP166, F-38042 Grenoble CEDEX, France.

The international Union of Crystallography can assume no responsibility for the accuracy of the claims made. A copy of the version sent to the printer is sent to the company concerned.

J. Appl. Cryst. (1987). 20, 325

Radix Databox 8K

Radix Instruments announces an upgraded version of its Databox automation system for X-ray diffraction: the **Databox 8K**. This new unit features over 8000 channels of data memory and expanded control capabilities, including a sample changer option.

The Databox, an intelligent steppermotor-controller integrated with a timer/ scaler and data memory, fits in a two-wide NIM module, and is capable of automating both X-ray diffractometers and scanning spectrometers. The user programs the Databox *via* an RS232 port using a simple and self-documenting command language.

For only US \$4000, the Databox is an extremely cost effective and easy-to-use solution to X-ray automation needs. The Databox has proven to be an extremely reliable laboratory tool, with many accumulated unit years of trouble-free operation in the field.

Along with the Databox, Radix also now offers **XRD** analysis software from Materials Data, Inc., which runs on any IBM PC or compatible. These two packages, **Micro-ID** and **Micro-Peak**, allow full data reduction and search/match on any JCPDS subfile. Both software packages, when purchased together with the Databox, cost US \$4995, plus the JCPDS subfile license fee. University discounts are available.

Radix Instruments, Inc., 1019 Stratford Avenue, South Pasadena, California 91030, USA

J. Appl. Cryst. (1987). 20, 325-326

Polaron Semiconductor Cryostats

Polaron Equipment, a division of Bio-Rad Laboratories, announce a range of liquid nitrogen and helium cryostats suitable for semiconductor materials testing.

The **DL4960 liquid nitrogen cryostat** uses a horizontal continuous-flow liquid