## Crystallographers

J. Appl. Cryst. (1991). 24, 412

This section is intended to be a series of short paragraphs dealing with the activities of crystallographers, such as their changes of position, promotions, assumption of significant new duties, honours, etc. Items for inclusion, subject to the approval of the Editorial Board, should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England).

Professor **Henry Lipson**, Emeritus Professor at the Department of Physics, UMIST, Manchester, England, died suddenly on 26 April 1991. A full obituary will be published in *Acta Crystallographica* Section A in due course.

Dr William Parrish, a member of the research staff at the IBM Almaden Research Center, San Jose, California, USA, died on 18 March 1991. A full obituary will be published in the *Journal of Applied Crystallography* in due course.

Professor **D. W. J. Cruickshank**, Emeritus Professor at the Department of Chemistry, University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology, England, is the first recipient of the Dorothy Hodgkin Prize of the British Crystallographic Association. The award was presented to him by Dorothy Hodgkin at the BCA Spring Meeting in

Sheffield in March 1991. The award acknowledged particularly the fundamental contributions made by Professor Cruickshank to the analysis of the accuracy of electron density maps and atomic coordinates and for laying the foundations for the application of the method of least squares to crystal structure refinement. In addition, the award recognized the contributions which he has made to the assessment of the Laue method as an efficient method of data collection for macromolecular crystals and, in particular, the analysis of the numbers of reflections which could be recorded without interference from harmonics. It is intended that the prize be award every three years.

The 1991 M. J. Buerger Award will be presented at the American Crystallographic Association meeting in July at Toledo, Ohio, USA, to Professor J. D. **Dunitz**. This award is given to recognize mature scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction in areas of interest to the ACA. It is awarded every third year in memory of Martin J. Buerger, Institute Professor Emeritus of MIT and University Professor Emeritus of the University of Connecticut, a mineralogist who made major contributions to many areas of crystallography.

Dr L. K. Frevel, now retired from the Dow Chemical Company and living in

Midland, Michigan, USA, has recently been elected Chairman of the Board of JCPDS-ICDD. Dr Frevel was one of the original developers of the Powder Diffraction File (PDF), which was later taken over by ASTM and subsequently by the JCPDS-ICDD (Joint Committee on Powder Diffraction Standards – International Centre for Diffraction Data). His election as Chairman of the Board is therefore very appropriate because the file which he originated is the very reason for the existence of the JCPDS-ICDD.

The Bertram Eugene Warren Diffraction Physics Award will be presented at the American Crystallographic Association meeting in July at Toledo, Ohio, USA, to Dr J. D. Jorgensen, Materials Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Illinois, USA. This award is made every third year to recognize an important contribution to the physics of solids or liquids using X-ray, neutron or electron diffraction techniques.

Professor M. G. Rossmann, Biological Science Department, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA, and Professors S. C. Harrison and D. C. Wiley, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Department, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, share the 1990 Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize of \$22 000 for deciphering the three-dimensional architectures of disease-causing viruses.