Laboratorium voor Anorganische en Fysische Chemie, Bloemsingel 10, Groningen, The Netherlands.

## (3) The Congress

Sessions of the Congress will be held from Monday afternoon (15 August) to Friday afternoon (19 August). The programme includes the following:

- (A) A special Congress Discourse, by Prof. Sir LAWRENCE BRAGG, on 'The growth in the power of X-ray analysis'.
- (B) Five General Lectures, on the following topics:
  - (1) 'Magnetic alignment', by J. H. VAN VLECK.
  - (2) 'Theory of metals', in the form of a debate by N. F. Mott, L. Pauling, J. C. Slater.
  - (3) 'Structure of crystalline proteins' by M. F. PERUTZ.
  - (4) 'The crystal chemistry of silicates, Chapter 2', by N. V. BELOV.
  - (5) 'Theory and practice of direct methods of structure analysis', by B. K. VAINSHTEIN (with coauthors A. I. KITAIGORODSKII, I. M. RUMANOVA, and Z. V. ZVONKOVA).
- (C) Sessions for the presentation and discussion of contributed papers on a wide range of topics. The Executive Committee of the Union has given its strong support to the Programme Committee's proposal that the Rapporteur System should be used for papers on certain topics in order to reduce

the number of simultaneous sessions. Details of the procedure to be followed are given in the *Booklet of General Information*.

(D) Exhibitions of equipment, publications and research techniques or procedures.

#### (4) The Symposia

Two Symposia are planned, on the following topics:

- (I) Thermal motion in crystals and molecules.
- (II) Lattice defects and the mechanical properties of solids.

For each Symposium a general Introductory Lecture will be given on the morning of Saturday, 20 August. Symposium I is expected to occupy two days (22 and 23 August); for Symposium II—which is arranged in association with the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics—three days are allocated (22–24 August). No simultaneous sessions will be arranged for either Symposium, and the time-table will be such that each afternoon will be free for informal discussion, the principal (invited) speakers being available for this purpose.

Intending members are urged to study the details given in the Booklet of General Information, and to follow the procedures set out there for registration and contribution to the scientific programme. Early completion and return of the appropriate forms will be helpful to the Congress Executive and Programme Committee.

# Notes and News

Announcements and other items of crystallographic interest will be published under this heading at the discretion of the Editorial Board. Copy should be sent direct to the Editor (P. P. Ewald, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, 333 Jay Street, Brooklyn 1, N.Y., U.S.A.) or to the Technical Editor (R. W. Asmussen, Chemical Laboratory B of the Technical University of Denmark, Sølvgade 83, Copenhagen K, Denmark)

# Acta Crystallographica

By permission of the Executive Committee of the International Union of Crystallography the present Editor of this Journal is retiring as such with the end of the current Volume (12). His place will be taken by Professor A. J. C. Wilson, University College, Cardiff, Great Britain (Telegraphic address: Wilson Coleg Cardiff). No change takes place regarding the Co-editors, and authors are requested to submit their manuscripts to them as usual, but to direct correspondence intended for the General Editor to Professor Wilson in so far as it is concerned with papers to be published in Vol. 13 and after. Manuscripts in German should also be addressed to Professor Wilson.

### **Structure Reports**

Professor Wilson's appointment as Editor of Acta Crystallographica entails his resignation as General Editor of Structure Reports. The Executive Committee of the International Union of Crystallography has appointed Dr W. B. Pearson, Division of Pure Physics, National Research Council, Ottawa 2, Canada, as his successor. Correspondence concerning vols. 16 (1952) and 18 (1954) should be addressed to Professor Wilson, all other correspondence to Dr Pearson.