International Union of Crystallography

Commission on Journals

The Commission on Journals held an extensive series of meetings in connexion with the Tenth General Assembly of the International Union of Crystallography, and makes the following announcements.

Composition of the Editorial Boards

Professor L. H. Jensen and Professor D. Mootz have retired as co-editors of *Acta Crystallographica*, and Professor M. M. Woolfson as book-review editor. The Commission is deeply grateful to them for their services to the crystallographic community. The Executive Committee has approved the appointments of Dr F. R. Ahmed, Professor G. Allegra, Professor H. Bärnighausen and Professor E. C. Lingafelter as co-editors of *Acta Crystallographica*, and of Dr J. H. Robertson as book-review editor.

Four other co-editors have given notice of their intention to retire as soon as replacements can be found.

Notes for Authors

The Commission has decided to undertake a revision of *Notes for Authors*. Deposition of structure-factor tables will become the normal practice, and publication will take place only when the nature of the paper is such that immediate reference to the tables is necessary. Any suggestions for other changes in *Notes for Authors* would be welcome and should be sent to the Chairman of the Commission, Professor A. J. C. Wilson, Department of Physics, The University of Birmingham, Birmingham B15 2TT, England.

Appointments in the IUCr Office

Mr S. A. Bryant retired on 31 December 1975 from the position of Technical Editor which he had held for thirteen years. Mr Bryant graduated at Oxford in 1930 with first class honours in chemistry and crystallography, having studied the latter under T. V. Barker. After also obtaining the degree of B. Sc. by research he spent two years at Armstrong College (now part of the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne) as a lecturer in organic chemistry, followed by a further period of research at the University of Bristol. In 1934 he moved to the Forest Products Research Laboratory, Princes Risborough, and from ten years later to Shell, in which he was successively research chemist, technical information officer in the London office, and senior technical editor at the Thornton Research Centre near Chester.

In 1962 the then Technical Editor of Acta Crystallographica, Professor R. W. Asmussen, signified his desire to resign as at the end of that year, but it proved impossible to find a successor who could continue the work on the previous part-time basis. The Executive Committee of the IUCr therefore decided to appoint a full-time Technical Editor for Union publications, and Mr Bryant started work in this capacity on 15 November 1962. For some time he worked alone, but because of the continued expansion of Acta Crystallographica it soon became necessary to engage first a secretary and then an Editorial Assistant. After the division of the journal into two sections at the beginning of

1968, and the launching of the *Journal of Applied Crystallography* in the same year, an even more rapid increase ensued in the number of journal pages published annually, and the technical editing staff needed to be further enlarged. The normal complement in addition to the Technical Editor is now an Assistant Technical Editor, two Editorial Assistants, and a secretary.

Dr D. W. Penfold, at present Assistant Technical Editor, succeeds Mr Bryant as Technical Editor from 1 January 1976. Dr Penfold studied at Imperical College, London, where he obtained an honours degree in physics, becoming an Associate of the Royal College of Science. Subsequently he carried out research on the relation of superconductivity to structure in β -W type compounds, for which he was awarded the degree of Ph. D. He spent a short period as a research assistant at University College London before joining the full-time editorial staff of the Union on 12 July 1971.

Dr J. E. Derry, who has been a member of the Technical Editor's staff since January 1972, becomes Assistant Technical Editor in succession to Dr Penfold. Dr Derry is an honours chemistry graduate of the University of Birmingham, where he also obtained a Ph. D. in X-ray crystallography for his research on the structures of diquat and related compounds. He is a co-author of a number of recent papers in *Acta Crystallographica*.

Mr R. S. Daykin resigned as Editorial Assistant last year and two new Editorial Assistants were appointed. Mrs S. Wallis, an honours graduate in physical sciences of the University of Surrey, joined the Chester office on 1 September 1975, having previously worked for a year in Karlsruhe with the European Institute for Transuranic Elements. Mr M. H. Dacombe, a first-class honours graduate of the University of Leeds, where he studied chemistry and earth sciences, commenced work in Chester on 1 October 1975. Mr Dacombe was previously on the staff of the BNF Metals Technology Centre, and was editor of the monthly bulletin BNF Abstracts.

Structure Reports

Five more volumes of *Structure Reports* have just been published, completing the coverage of the literature on structure determinations for metals and inorganic compounds up to the end of 1973. The volumes in question are:

Volume 32A, covering the literature for metals and inorganic compounds for 1967 (viii+525 pages). Price: 115 Netherlands guilders.

Volume 34A, covering the literature for metals and inorganic compounds for 1969 (viii+413 pages). Price: 90 Netherlands guilders.

Volume 37A, covering the literature for metals and inorganic compounds for 1971 (viii + 376 pages). Price: 90 Netherlands guilders.

Volume 38A, covering the literature for metals and inorganic compounds for 1972 (viii+412 pages). Price: 115 Netherlands guilders.