International Union of Crystallography

Acta Cryst. (1990). A46, 152

Commission on Journals

Criteria for Acceptance in Sections B and C of Acta Crystallographica

Papers submitted for publication in Section B of Acta Crystallographica should meet the following general criteria:

1. The paper must contain a major structural element. Some examples of this component are: an original determination of one or more structures, along with significant discussion of the structural implications; a structure studied at more than one pressure or temperature; a theoretical structural investigation including new methodology; or a study of structural relationships based on a search of the literature.

2. The paper should also present a significant experimental and/or theoretical contribution to one of the natural sciences.

3. The paper should combine the above types of contribution to provide new structural insight.

4. Papers reporting work on a single compound are suitable for Section B as long as criteria 2 and 3 are met.

5. Papers reporting work on more than one compound are acceptable either in Section B if criteria 2 and 3 are met or in Section C otherwise.

Notes and News

Acta Cryst. (1990). A46, 152

International Organization of Crystal Growth (IOCG)

The Officers of the International Organization of Crystal Growth (IOCG), elected at the General Assembly held in Sendai, Japan, in August 1989, are as follows:

President: Professor B. Cockayne (UK); Vice-Presidents: Professor R. F. Sekerka (USA) and Professor A. A. Chernov (USSR); Secretary: Professor M. Schieber (Israel); Treasurer: Professor E. Kaldis (Switzerland). Professor R. Kern (France) is the Past President. The bonds of contact and the cooperation between the IOCG and the Commission on Crystal Growth and Characterization of Materials of the IUCr remain excellent.

Professor Kaldis, the new Treasurer of the IOCG, and two other members of the IOCG Executive Committee, Professor I. Komatsu (Japan) and Professor K. W. Benz (Federal Republic of Germany) are involved in the above Commission. In addition, Professor V. V. Osiko (USSR) is appointed by the IOCG as an *ex officio* member of the Commission.