Acta Cryst. (1989). B45, 200

New analysis of the neutron diffraction data for anhydrous orthophosphoric acid and the structure of H₃PO₄ molecules in crystals. Erratum. By ROBERT H. BLESSING, Medical Foundation of Buffalo, 73 High Street, Buffalo, New York 14203, USA

(Received 16 December 1988)

Abstract

A printer's error is corrected. In the paper by Blessing [Acta Cryst. (1988), B44, 334-340], the line of text '... data, respectively. The 008 reflection had the smallest ...' was not

printed. It should be inserted five lines from the end of the section entitled *Least-squares refinement* on p. 335.

All relevant information is given in the Abstract.

International Union of Crystallography

Acta Cryst. (1989). B45, 200

Nominations for the Ewald Prize

The International Union of Crystallography is pleased to invite nominations for the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. The Prize is named after Professor Paul P. Ewald, in recognition of his significant contributions to the foundations of crystallography and to the founding of the International Union of Crystallography. Professor Ewald was the President of the Provisional International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, the first Editor of the Union's publication Acta Crystallographica from 1948 to 1959 and the President of the Union from 1960 to 1963.

The Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a financial award. It is presented once every three years during the triennial International Congresses of Crystallography. The first Prize was presented at the XIV Congress at Perth, Australia, in 1987. The second Prize, for which nominations are now being invited, will be presented at the XV Congress in Bordeaux, France, in July 1990.

Scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography are eligible for the Ewald Prize, irrespective of nationality, age or experience. The only exceptions are the current members of the Prize Selection Committee and the President of the Union, none of whom are eligible. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of the nominee's contributions. The Prize may be shared by more than one contributor to the same scientific achievement.

Nominations for the Ewald Prize should be submitted in writing, preferably using the Ewald Prize Nomination Form and accompanied by supporting documentation, to The Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England, from whom copies of the Nomination Form, the names of the Selection Committee and advice on the submission of nominations may be obtained. The closing date for nominations is 31 August 1989.

M. Nardelli President A. I. Hordvik General Secretary

Notes and News

Acta Cryst. (1989). B45, 200

Krebs Memorial Scholarship

This is a post-graduate scholarship, tenable at any British university, resulting from an appeal launched by the (UK) Biochemical Society to commemorate the life and work of Sir Hans Krebs.

The scholarship is primarily intended to help candidates who wish to proceed to a PhD in biochemistry or in an allied biomedical science, but whose careers have been interrupted for non-academic reasons beyond their own control and/or

0108-7681/89/020200-01\$03.00

who are unlikely to qualify for an award from public funds. It will cover a personal maintenance grant at appropriate levels, all necessary fees, and a Research Training Support Grant at the level obtaining at the time of the award. The scholarship will be awarded for one year in the first instance but may be renewed up to a maximum tenure of three years.

Applicants will be expected to have made prior arrangements with the university at which they intend to hold the award, and the application must be forwarded through the head of department concerned. For further details and an application form please write to Caroline Archer, Administrative Assistant, The Biochemical Society, 7 Warwick Court, High Holborn, London WC1R 5DP, England.

© 1989 International Union of Crystallography