International Union of Crystallography

Acta Cryst. (1986). C42, 926

Commission on Journals Atomic Labelling

The Commission on Journals recently voted to simplify the form of atomic labelling. Atoms of the same chemical species within an asymmetrical unit should be distinguished in future by an appended arabic numeral, with parentheses around the numeral required only in the event of ambiguity, such as C11 versus Cl(1) or C(11).

Acta Cryst. (1986). C42, 926

International Union of Crystallography announces the Ewald Prize

The International Union of Crystallography announces the establishment of the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. The name of the prize has been chosen with the kind consent of the late Paul Peter Ewald, to recognize Professor Ewald's significant contributions to the foundations of crystallography and to the founding of the International Union of Crystallography,

especially his services as the President of the Provisional International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, as the first Editor of the Union's publication *Acta Crystallographica* from 1948 to 1959, and as the President of the Union from 1960 to 1963.

The prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a financial award. It will be presented once every three years during the triennial International Congresses of Crystallography. The first prize will be presented during the XIV Congress at Perth, Australia, in 1987. This year will be the seventy-fifth anniversary of the discovery of X-ray diffraction in 1912.

Any scientist who has made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography is eligible for the Ewald Prize, irrespective of nationality, age or experience. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of his or her contributions. The prize may be shared by several contributors to the same scientific achievement.

Nominations for the Ewald Prize are invited. They should be submitted in writing, accompanied by supporting documentation, to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, United Kingdom. The closing date for nominations is 30 September 1986.

TH. HAHN President K. V. J. KURKI-SUONIO General Secretary