of the limitations of two-dimensional projections by drawing objects which are susceptible to visual reversal and by using projections which are not self-consistent over the whole print. These ideas are developed in his drawings of impossible buildings which incorporate such features as an endless 1 ising stairway in a finite space and an interesting demonstration of a perpetual-motion machine.

Some of the pictures are very beautiful, some approach the horrific; nearly all of them have a vivid and original impact on the viewer. Altogether this is a fascinating and attractively produced book. It will occupy a proud place on many home bookshelves.

A. HARGREAVES

Department of Physics University of Manchester Institute of Science & Technology Manchester M60 1QD England

## Notes and News

Announcements and other items of crystallographic interest will be published under this heading at the discretion of the Editorial Board. The notes (in duplicate) should be sent to the General Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (G.Boom, Laboratorium voor Fysische Metaalkunde der Rijksuniversiteit, Universiteitscomplex Paddepoel, Groningen 8002, The Netherlands). Publication of an item in a particular issue cannot be guaranteed unless the draft is received 8 weeks before the date of publication.

## The Warren Award

The Bertram Eugene Warren Diffraction Physics Award will be presented for the first time at the meeting of the American Crystallographic Association in Ottawa, Canada, in August, 1970.

This award was established by students and friends of Prof. Warren on the occasion of his retirement from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. It is to be given for an important recent contribution to the physics of solids or liquids using X-ray, neutron, or electron diffraction techniques. This includes work such as elastic or inelastic scattering studies of imperfections in crystals, or studies of liquids or amorphous materials, or developments in diffraction theory appropriate to such problems, to give a few examples; it does not include crystal structure determinations. Work that is to be eligible for this first award must have been published between 1 July 1963 and 30 June 1969. There are no restrictions as to age, experience or nationality of recipients. The award consists of a certificate and \$1000 and is to be given every three years.

The following committee has been appointed to select the 1970 award recipient: R.D.Deslattes, A.Guinier, D.P. Shoemaker, A.J.C.Wilson, and C.B.Walker, Chairman.

The selection committee will welcome suggestions for possible recipients from any interested persons. Suggestions should be addressed to Prof. D. P. Shoemaker, Department of Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass. 02139, U.S.A.