Notes and News

Announcements and other items of crystallographic interest will be published under this heading at the discretion of the Editorial Board. The notes (in duplicate) should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King, 13 White Friars, Chester CH1 1NZ, England).

Cooperative Efforts on Nomenclature in Mineralogy and Crystallography

It has been evident for a long time that there are many serious problems in nomenclature that jointly affect the fields of mineralogy and crystallography. An *ad hoc* Joint Committee on Nomenclature has been set up to study these problems and its members have been nominated by the International Union of Crystallography and the International Mineralogical Association.

The membership is as follows:

Nominated by I.U.Cr.

Prof. S. W. Bailey, *Chairman* (Department of Geology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin 53706, U.S.A.); Prof. S. Goldsztaub (Strasbourg, France); Prof. H. Schulz (Zürich, Switzerland); Prof H. F. W. Taylor (Aberdeen, U.K.); Prof. A. J. C. Wilson (Birmingham, U.K.; *ex* officio).

Nominated by I.M.A.

Prof. V. A. Frank-Kamenetsky (Leningrad, U.S.S.R.); Dr A. Kato (Tokyo, Japan); Prof. A. Pabst (California, U.S.A.); Prof. J. Zemann (Vienna, Austria); Dr M. Fleischer (Washington, D. C., U.S.A.; *ex officio*).

It is a pleasure to acknowledge the help of Dr Gabrielle Donnay in establishing this Committee. It is hoped that the Committee will be able to make useful recommendations on many subjects, as for example the systematization of naming polymorphs and polytypes in complex mineral groups such as the mica, scapolite, and cancrinite groups; the correct usage of the terms epitaxy, syntaxy, and topotaxy. Crystallographers involved with nomenclature problems that jointly affect mineralogy and crystallography are invited to make use of this Committee by contacting the Chairman.

International Council of Scientific Unions Abstracting Board (ICSU AB)

The ICSU AB has announced its plans to go ahead with the first stage of a world system for abstracting and indexing services for science and technology.

The member services of the Board are Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, Bibliographie des Sciences de la Terre, Bibliography and Index of Geology, BioSciences Information Service of Biological Abstracts, Bulletin Signalétique, Chemical Abstracts Service, Chemischer Informationsdienst, Science Abstracts, Physikalische Berichte, Referativnyi Zhurnal, Zentralblatt für Mathematik. Major international scientific Unions, including the IUCr, are also members of the Board. Under the new plan member services from each discipline will be responsible for abstracting certain journals and contributing the abstracts to a pool. This will greatly reduce the duplication of work and the number of articles processed by each abstracting service.

The proceedings of the meeting of the ICSU AB in July 1970, which include the description of the first stage of the plan, are available from the ICSU Abstracting Board Secretariat, 17 rue Mirabeau, Paris 16e, France (U.S. \$15.00, plus mailing charges).

Crystallographers

Dr James Knox, who has recently completed post-doctoral programs at Oxford and at Yale Universities, has been appointed Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of Connecticut in Storrs. He will be joining the Crystal Science program of the Institute of Materials Science there which already includes L. V. Azároff, M. J. Buerger, A. J. Frueh, Jr, L. Katz, and A. F. Wells.

Dr. R. B. Roof, Jr is spending the year (1970) as a Visiting Lecturer in Physics at the University of Western Australia in Perth. He will then return to his regular position as a staff member at Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory.

At the 1970 annual meeting of the American Crystallographic Association, held in Ottawa in August, Dr Michael K. Hart of Bristol (England) and Professor Ulrich Bonse of Münster (Germany) received the first Bertram Eugene Warren Award in Diffraction Physics. The award in the amount of \$1000 is to be made triennially for 'an important recent contribution to the physics of solids or liquids using X-ray, neutron or electron diffraction techniques'. Hart and Bonse were honored for their development and application of the X-ray interferometer and related devices.

Having just retired from the University of Chicago, Professor Charles S. Barrett has accepted a professorship in the Department of Metallurgy, University of Denver where he expects to carry out some of his work in collaboration with Professor J. B. Newkirk. On 1 July 1970, Professor David P. Shoemaker took up the post of Chairman, Chemistry Department, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon 97331, U.S.A. A professor of chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for many years, Dr. Shoemaker has most visibly served the IUCr recently as a Co-editor of Acta Crystallographica and as Chairman of the Organizing Committee for the VIII International Congress of Crystallography.

Dr Gabrielle Donnay has taken a position as a Professor in the Department of Geological Sciences, McGill University, Montreal, Canada.

Professor J. D. H. Donnay has accepted appointment as a special lecturer at the Université de Montréal while continuing a part time associa-