## **Notes and News**

Announcements and other items of crystallographic interest will be published under this heading at the discretion of the Editorial Board. The notes (in duplicate) should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King, International Union of Crystallography, 13 White Friars, Chester CH1 1NZ, England).

## American Crystallographic Association

## Ad hoc Committee on Small-Angle X-ray Scattering

A computerized international mailing list is being prepared of all researchers who are active or interested in small-angle X-ray or neutron scattering. This list will be used by the ACA, the IUCr, or other qualified professional organiza-

tions exclusively for dissemination of information of interest to the field (e.g. announcements of forthcoming small-angle meetings, workshops, etc.). The list will be coded both geographically and by field of interest in order that selective mailing lists can be prepared.

All persons who wish to be included in this compilation should send a post card, with the information indicated below, to Robert W. Hendricks, Metals and Ceramics Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, P. O. Box X, Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830, U.S.A. The information required is (1) name and title, (2) complete mailing address, (3) membership in crystallographic organizations, and (4) field of interest (choose up to 3): (a) All areas of SAS, (b) inorganic materials, (c) polymers, (d) biological, (e) liquids and solutions, (f) critical phenomena, (g) neutron SAS, (h) theory, (i) other.

## Crystallographers

We regret to have to record the death on 1 April 1971 of Professor Dame Kathleen Lonsdale, who was Professor of Chemistry and Head of the Department of Crystallography, University College, London from 1949 to 1968. Her many contributions to crystallography included her work as General Editor of International Tables for X-ray Crystallography. She was one of the first women to be elected Fellow of the Royal Society and the first woman President of the British Association for the Advancement of Science. As President of the International Union of Crystallography she chaired the sessions of the Seventh General Assembly in Moscow, 1966. A full obituary is to be published in Acta Crystallographica, Section A.

Dr J. V. Silverton, formerly at Georgetown University, has accepted a post in the Laboratory of Chemistry, NHLI, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, U.S.A.

Professor C. A. Taylor has been appointed a Vice-President of the (U.K.) Institute of Physics with special responsibilities for education. Professor Taylor is Professor of Physics at University College, Cardiff, Wales and is Chairman of the I.U.Cr. Committee on Crystallographic Teaching.

Dr. Eric J. Gabe has left the Mines Branch to become a Research Officer of the Chemistry Division, National Research Council, Ottawa, Canada.

Professor D. W. J. Cruickshank has been appointed Deputy Principal of the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology for the two-year period 1971–73. Professor Cruickshank is the General Secretary and Treasurer of the I.U.Cr. and also continues his teaching duties as a professor of chemistry.

Professor **Dorothy C. Hodgkin** has received one of the highest honors the U.S.A. National Academy of Sciences can bestow, that of election as a foreign associate. A professor of chemistry at Oxford University, Chancellor of Bristol University, and Nobel laureate, Dr Hodgkin is a member of the I.U.Cr. Executive Committee.

Dr Roberto Colella will join the Physics Department of Purdue University, Lafayette, Indiana, U.S.A., as an assistant professor in September. He has been at the Catholic University, Washington, D.C. for the past year.

Professor Chatar Singh, once at Cambridge and now at the School of Physics and Mathematics, University of Penang, Malaysia, is developing a strong crystallography program with the participation of Dr Turid Pedersen, formerly of Melbourne,