When there is good reason for using other units (for example, when a dimension is determined by a standard machine tool or commercial practice) the SI equivalent should follow in parentheses [see Notes for Authors. Acta Cryst. (1978), A34, 143-157]. A useful publication on the SI system is A Guide to International Recommendations on Names and Symbols for Quantities and on the Units of Measurement (1975) by D. Armstrong Lowe (Geneva: World Heath Organization).

## **Structural Data**

Routine checking of papers containing structural data, for consistency between the atomic coordinates and lattice constants and the quoted bond lengths, bond angles and torsion angles, is now being introduced by all Co-editors. Since the detection of inconsistency will result in a paper being returned to its authors, care should be taken to ensure that the final tables and results presented in the manuscript correspond accurately to the primary data.

#### Anisotropic Thermal Parameters

Anisotropic thermal parameters are to be published only if the table of values is very short, or they are necessary for understanding the paper, or they possess unusual features or cast doubt on the structure but do not lead to rejection of the paper. In all other cases, the table of values is to be deposited: a brief discussion of deposited values should instead be presented, including the maximum and minimum values found and the presence of any nonpositive-definite coefficients determined. In addition, the equivalent values of the Debye-Waller factor should be given for publishing with the list of atomic coordinates.

### Notes and News

Announcements and other items of crystallographic interest will be published under this heading at the discretion of the Editorial Board. The notes (in duplicate) should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King. International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square. Chester CH1 2HU, England).

#### J. Appl. Cryst. (1979). 12, 318

# Request for donations of publications and geological specimens

On 18 March 1978 a fire destroyed a large part of the University of Lisbon, namely the building where the Faculty of Science and the Natural History Museum were located. The Mineralogical and Geological Museums were almost completely destroyed, together with all records and specimens, as was the Library belonging to the Geological Society of Portugal, entrusted to the Department, and all its books, maps, *etc.* were lost in the fire.

Under these circumstances, teaching and research activities are almost impossible, and the Department is making an appeal for international assistance, requesting donations of books, magazines and geological specimens (including minerals, rocks and fossils).

Offers of assistance should be sent to Professor C. A. de Matos Alves, Head of the Department of Mineralogy and Geology, Faculty of Science, University of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal.

# Crystallographers

This section is intended to be a series of short paragraphs dealing with the activities of crystallographers, such as their changes of position, promotions, assumption of significant new duties, honours, etc. Items for inclusion, subject to the approval of the Editorial Board, should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King, International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England).

Professor **E. F. Bertaut** has been elected to the Académie des Sciences de l'Institut de France. Professor Bertaut is head of the Laboratoire de Cristallographie de CNRS in Grenoble and is a member of the Executive Committee of the International Union of Crystallography.

Professor J. M. Cowley, of the Department of Physics, Arizona State University, and Professor D. W. J. Crulckshank, of the Department of Chemistry, University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology, have been elected Fellows of the Royal Society.

Dr Jenny P. Glusker, a member of the Department of Molecular Structure of the Institute for Cancer Research at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Research Associate Professor of Physical Biochemistry at the University of Pennsylvania, has been awarded the Garvan Medal of the American Chemical Society. Dr Glusker also received the Philadelphia Section Award in October 1978. She is currently President of the American Crystallographic Association.

Professor James A. Ibers, Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, has been awarded the American Chemical Society Award in Inorganic Chemistry.

Professor **George A. Jeffrey**, Chairman of the Department of Crystallography at the University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, received the Pittsburgh Section Award of the American Chemical Society in December 1978.

At the time of his death on 23 August 1978 Professor **Sergio Quareni** was only 49 years of age. It is a great sorrow to see a scientist pass away at the height of his career. For the last two years, he had been in and out of hospital. But, during the brief moments when he returned to the Laboratory, he still found the strength to work and teach.

Sergio Quareni was Professor of Mineralogy at the University of Padova (Italy). His scientific interests had always been directed towards crystallography. His contributions to the study of feldspars were outstanding. So too was his attitude towards perfecting equipment – particularly high-temperature apparatus for Weissenberg and precession cameras – which permitted him to carry out his experiments.

For many years, he was the Treasurer of the Italian Crystallographic Association.

Clearly, it is impossible to do justice to a scientist like Professor Quareni in such a limited space. But, above all, his warm humanity towards his students and colleagues will be remembered; also his attachment to his family. These great gifts of his, together with his scientific talents, will be greatly missed.

Professor Harold W. Wyckoff, of the Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University, has been elected Vice-President of the American Crystallographic Association for 1979 and will become President in 1980. Dr K. Ann Kerr, of the Department of Chemistry and Physics, University of Calgary, has been elected Secretary, and Professor Charles N. Caughlan, of the Department of Chemistry, Montana State University, continues as Treasurer.

## **Book Reviews**

Works intended for notice in this column should be sent direct to the Book-Review Editor (J. H. Robertson, School of Chemistry. University of Leeds, Leeds LS2 9JT. England). As far as practicable books will be reviewed in a country different from that of publication.

J. Appl. Cryst. (1979). 12, 318-319

Multicomponent alloy constitution bibliography. By Alan Prince. Pp. xxxviii+1105. London: The Metals Society, 1978. Price £30.00, \$90.00.

Since The Constitutional Diagrams for Alloys: A Bibliography (J. L. Haughton &