References

Kuriyama, M., Boettinger, W. J. & Burdette, H. E. (1978). J. Cryst. Growth, 43, 287-300.

Kuriyama, M., Early, J. G. & Burdette, H. E. (1974). AIAA 12th Aerospace Sciences Meeting, paper 74–204. J. Appl. Cryst. (1974), 7, 535–540.

Crystallographers

J. Appl. Cryst. (1986). 19, 280

This section is intended to be a series of short paragraphs dealing with the activities of crystallographers, such as their changes of position, promotions, assumption of significant new duties, honours, etc. Items for inclusion, subject to the approval of the Editorial Board, should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England).

Professor Yoshikazu Ishikawa died on 28 February 1986 in Sendai, Japan, at the age of 55. Professor Sadao Hoshino writes that Professor Ishikawa was an outstanding physicist in the field of solid-state physics. With his death the Japanese community of physicists loses a leading scientist of unique originality and depth.

Ishikawa graduated from the University of Tokyo in 1953 with a bachelor's degree in physics and obtained a doctor of science degree in 1958 after 5 years study in the graduate school of the University of Tokyo. In 1959 he became Associate Professor at the Institute for Solid State Physics, University of Tokyo, where he continued his research work in the field of magnetism. After returning from 2 years study at Laboratoire d'Electrostatique et Physique du Métal of CNRS in Grenoble, France, he paid special effort to promote neutron diffraction studies in Japan and published a number of prominent works on neutron diffraction of magnetic substances. In 1969, Ishikawa was appointed Professor at Tohoku University. Since then, he was very enthusiastic to develop pulsed neutron scattering techniques to study the structure and dynamics of condensed matter with a spallation neutron source by utilizing a high-energy accelerator. Such developmental work in the early stages with the use of the electron linac at Tohoku University prepared the ground work for the later establishment of the neutron scattering facility with a proton synchrotron. Owing to his great effort. KENS, one of the national research centers for neutron diffraction

and scattering studies, utilizing a booster ring for the high-energy proton accelerator, was established in the National Laboratory for High Energy Physics (KEK) in 1980. Under the leadership of Ishikawa, various types of neutron spectrometers have been constructed together with a cold-neutron source at KENS and a great number of physicists, chemists and crystallographers are using these facilities for studies in many fields. It can be said that studies with the spallation neutron source carried out in Japan took the lead in the world, and this is certainly due to the enthusiastic efforts made by Ishikawa. A plan to construct an advanced facility for a new accelerator including a spallation neutron source in which Ishikawa was deeply involved is being discussed. Furthermore, he also promoted the setting up of the Japan-UK cooperative research program on neutron scattering by utilizing the pulsedneutron facility at the Rutherford Laboratory. Professor Ishikawa was expected to promote these future projects and his sudden death is a great loss for the neutron scattering community in Japan.

Professor Erwin Felix Bertaut, Laboratoire de Cristallographie de CNRS, Grenoble, has been awarded the 1986 Gregori Aminoff gold medal and prize for his outstanding theoretical and experimental crystallographic work, especially concerning magnetic structures.

This, the seventh such award, was presented to Professor Bertaut at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences meeting on 28 May. Previous recipients of the award are Professor P. P. Ewald (1979), Sir Charles Frank (1981), Professors G. Hägg (1982), J. M. Robertson (1983), D. Harker (1984) and A. Guinier (1985).

Professor J. D. Dunitz, Laboratorium für Organische Chemie, ETH-Zentrum, CH-8092 Zurich, Switzerland, received the Paracelsus Prize of the Swiss Chemical Society on 14 March 1986.

Professor Robert E. Newnham, Materials Research Laboratory, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA 16802, USA, has been elected a Fellow of The American Ceramic Society Inc.

Mr Paul Seller, Laboratorium für Organische Chemie, ETH-Zentrum, CH-8092 Zurich, Switzerland, has been awarded the Preis des Schweizerischen Chemiker Verbandes (Association of Swiss Chemists) 1985 for his work on the 'measure-

ment of exact Bragg intensities for X-ray crystal structure analysis'. The prize is awarded annually for an outstanding work in the area of chemistry, including biochemistry and chemical engineering.

International Union of Crystallography

J. Appl. Cryst. (1986). 19, 280

International Union of Crystallography announces the Ewald Prize

The International Union of Crystallography announces the establishment of the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. The name of the prize has been chosen with the kind consent of the late Paul Peter Ewald, to recognize Professor Ewald's significant contributions to the foundations of crystallography and to the founding of the International Union of Crystallography, especially his services as the President of the Provisional International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, as the first Editor of the Union's publication Acta Crystallographica from 1948 to 1959, and as President of the Union from 1960 to 1963.

The prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a financial award. It will be presented once every three years during the triennial International Congresses of Crystallography. The first prize will be presented during the XIV Congress at Perth, Australia, in 1987. This year will be the seventy-fifth anniversary of the discovery of X-ray diffraction in 1912.

Any scientist who has made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography is eligible for the Ewald Prize, irrespective of nationality, age or experience. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of his or her contributions. The prize may be shared by several contributors to the same scientific achievement.

Nominations for the Ewald Prize are invited. They should be submitted in writing, accompanied by supporting documentation, to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, United Kingdom. The closing date for nominations is 30 September 1986.

TH. HAHN K. V. J. KURKI-SUONIO
President General Secretary