Pavelčík, F. (1988). *Acta Cryst.* A**44**, 724–729.

Pavelčík, F. (1989). *J. Appl. Cryst.* **22**, 181–182.

Pavelčík, F. (1990). *J. Appl. Cryst.* **23**, 225–227.

Pavelčík, F. (1991). *Acta Cryst*. A**47**, 292–293.

Pavelčík, F. (1992). In preparation.

Pavelčík, F., Rizzoli, C. & Andreetti, G. D. (1990). XFPS. A Program for Automatic Structure Determination by Fourier, Patterson and Superposition Methods. MS-DOS PC version, November 1990. Univ. of Parma, Italy, and J. A. Komensky Univ., Bratislava, Czechoslovakia.

Pavelčík, F. & Sivý J. (1989). XFPS89. A Computer Program for Automatic Structure Determination by Fourier, Patterson and Superposition Methods. J. A. Komensky Univ., Bratislava, Czechoslovakia.

Rizzoli, C., Sangermano, V., Calestani, G. & Andreetti, G. D. (1987). J. Appl. Cryst. 20, 436–439.

Zimmerman, H. (1988). *Z. Kristallogr.* **183**, 113–122.

### Crystallographers

J. Appl. Cryst. (1992). 25, 329

This section is intended to be a series of short paragraphs dealing with the activities of crystallographers, such as their changes of position, promotions, assumption of significant new duties, honours, etc. Items for inclusion, subject to the approval of the Editorial Board, should be sent to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography (J. N. King, International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England)

Dr R. A. Laudise, Director of the Materials Chemistry Research Laboratory, AT&T Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, New Jersey, USA, and Professor D. C. Wiley, Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, are amongst the 60 newly elected Members of the (US) National Academy of Sciences.

Professor R. S. Stein, Director of the Polymer Research Institute and Groessman Professor of Chemistry at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Massachusetts, USA, is among the 77 newly elected Members of the (US) National Academy of Engineering.

Professor A. J. C. Wilson, University Chemical Laboratory, Cambridge, England, received an honary degree of Doctor of Laws at Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada, on 19 October 1991. His first degree (BSc) was obtained at this university in 1934.

Professor R. A. Young, Professor Emeritus of Physics at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA, has been elected a Foreign Member of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

### **Notes and News**

J. Appl. Cryst. (1992). 25, 329

#### Oxford Cryosystems Award during ECM-14

During the 14th European Crystallographic Meeting, to be held 2–7 August 1992 in Enschede, The Netherlands, the Oxford Cryosystems Award for the most outstanding presentation (oral or poster) in the use of low temperatures for crystallography or the design of equipment or techniques in low-temperature crystallography will be presented. An independent jury appointed by the Programme Committee of ECM-14 will judge candidate presentations. The prize (250 pound sterling) is donated by Oxford Cryosystems.

For more information contact: ECM-14, Secretary, Dr Hilbert J. Bruins Slot, CAOS/CAMM Center, University of Nijmegen, 6525 ED Nijmegen, The Netherlands.

Fax: +31-80-553450 E-mail: bslot@caos.caos.kun.nl

# International Union of Crystallography

J. Appl. Cryst. (1992). 25, 329

### Nominations for the Ewald Prize

The International Union of Crystallography is pleased to invite nominations for the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. The Prize is name after Professor Paul P. Ewald, in recognition of his significant contributions to the foundations of crystallograpy and to the founding of the International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, the first Editor of the Union's publication *Acta Crystallographica* from 1948 to 1959 and the President of the Union from 1960 to 1962

The Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a financial award, and is presented once every three years during the triennial International Congress of Crystallography. The recipients to date are as follows:

Year Place Recipients

1987 Perth, Professor
Australia J.M. Cowley and
Dr A.F. Moodie

1990 Bordeaux, Professor
France B.K. Vainshtein.

The third Prize, for which nominations are now being invited, will be presented at the XVI Congress in Beijing, China, in August 1993.

Scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography are eligible for the Ewald Prize, irrespective of nationality, age or experience. The Selection Committee will give careful attention to the nominations of outstanding scientists who have not yet won a major prize. Either an exceptionally scientific career or a major scientific accomplishment may be recognized. Current members of the Prize Selection Committee and the President of the Union are not eligible. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of the nominee's contributions. The Prize may be shared by more than one contributor, but not more than three, to the same scientific achievement.

Nominations for the Ewald Prize should be submitted in writing, preferably using the Ewald Prize Nomination Form and accompanied by supporting documentations, to the Executive Secretary of the International Union of Crystallography, 5 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, England, from whom copies of the Nomination Form, the names of the Selection Committee and advice on the submission of nominations may be obtained. The closing date for nominations is 31 August 1992.

A. AUTHIER A. I. HORDVIK
President General Secretary

## New Commercial Products

Announcements of new commercial products are published by the Journal of Applied Crystallography free of charge. The descriptions, up to 300 words or the equivalent if a figure is included, should give the price and the manufacturer's full address. Full or partial inclusion is subject to the Editor's approval and to the space available. All correspondence should be sent to the Editor, Dr. A. M. Glazer, Editor Journal of Applied Crystallography, Clarendon Laboratory, University of Oxford, Parks Road, Oxford OXX 3PU, England.

The International Union of Crystallography can assume no responsibility for the accuracy of the claims made. A copy of the version sent to the printer is sent to the company concerned.

J. Appl. Cryst. (1992). 25, 329-330

### UDS 2 Programmable Controller for X-ray Diffractometers

UDS 2 is a programmable, self-contained controller for X-ray dif-