Crystal structures. 2nd Edition, Vol. 3. By R. W. G. WYCKOFF. Pp. 981. New York, London, Sydney: Interscience Publishers, 1965. Price 210s.

Erfreulich rasch ist in der 2. Auflage von Wyckoff's *Crystal Structures* den beiden ersten Bänden der dritte gefolgt. Er enthält vom Gesamtwerk die Kapitel VIII, IX und X, welche die Kristallstrukturen der Verbindungstypen $R_x(MX_4)_y$, $R_x(M_nX_p)_y$ sowie die Hydrate und Ammoniakate behandeln.

Die Darstellung des Stoffes entspricht jener in den vorausgehenden Bänden. Man findet wieder die hervorstechenden Züge des Werkes: hohe Aktualität – die Literatur ist bis 1963 berücksichtigt! –, sehr gute Zuverlässigkeit und reiche Illustration. In der Regel werden zu jedem Struktur-

typ zwei Bilder der Projektion der Atomanordnung nach einer günstigen Richtung gebracht, wobei im ersten die Atomschwerpunkte dargestellt sind, im zweiten ist hingegen die Struktur als Kugelpackung gezeichnet.

Durch die zunehmende Schwierigkeit, die ständig und rasch anwachsende Literatur über Kristallstrukturbestimmungen zu übersehen, ist dieser Teilband aus Wyckoff's Gesamtwerk ebenso wie seine beiden Vorgänger für alle an anorganischen Kristallstrukturen Interessierten unentbehrlich. Es ist nur zu hoffen, dass die weiteren Bände rasch und in der gleichen Güte folgen werden.

J. ZEMANN

Mineralogisch-Kristallographisches Institut Universität Göttingen Lotzestrasse 16–18 Deutschland

Acta Cryst. (1966). 21, 455

International Union of Crystallography

Conference in Melbourne, Australia, 16-21 August 1965

At the invitation of the Australian Academy of Science an International Conference, consisting of a Symposium on *Electron Diffraction* and a Symposium on *The Nature of Defects in Crystals*, was held in Melbourne from 16 to 21 August 1965. The meeting was organized under the joint auspices of the Academy and the International Union of Crystallography, with the support of the Commission on the Solid State of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.

The Conference was attended by about 220 Australian and 110 foreign scientists, the latter coming from 16 countries, and by about 60 accompanying members. Generous financial assistance received from UNESCO through ICSU and from the International Atomic Energy Agency. in addition to the funds made available by the Australian Academy of Science, the International Union of Crystallography and the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, had made it possible for travel and subsistence grants to be offered to a large number of invited participants from overseas. Donations were further received from about twenty-five academic, governmental, commercial and industrial organizations and institutions. These donations were mainly used to defray part of the organizational expenditure. The organizers of the Conference as well as the participants are most grateful for the financial support and other donations.

For the organization of the Conference a number of Committees had been established. The Conference Organizing Committee under the chairmanship of R.I. Garrod, and with J.N. King as secretary, was responsible for the general policy and planning of the meetings. The responsibility for the scientific programme was vested in two Programme Committees which were headed by J.M. Cowley and W. Boas. The Commission on Electron Diffraction of the IUCr and the Commission on the Solid State of the IUPAP

assisted in the planning of the programmes of the two Symposia.

No less than seven sub-committees shared the responsibility for the various details of the organization. The conveners of these sub-committees were K.L.Sutherland (finance), R.C.Gifkins (conference literature), J.L.William (exhibition), A.McL.Mathieson (technical visits), L.M. Clarebrough (excursions), M.E.Hargreaves (social functions) and Mrs C.K.Coogan (ladies' programme).

The Conference was held in the buildings of the University of Melbourne, the Conference Office being located in the new Architecture Building. The meetings were formally opened on Monday morning 16 August in Wilson Hall. Sir MacFarlane Burnet. President of the Australian Academy of Science, introduced Senator the Hon. J.G. GORTON, Minister-in-Charge Commonwealth Activities in Education and Research, who opened the Conference and welcomed the participants to Melbourne. Dame KATHLEEN LONSDALE, Senior Vice-President of the Union and President of the Conference, who represented the President of the Union, J.D. Bernal (who owing to serious illness had not been able to come to Melbourne), expressed thanks on behalf of all participants. After reviewing the various activities of the Union, in particular in the field of publications, she explained the importance of the topics of the Confer-

The scientific sessions of the Conference were held in the Redmond Barry Building. The programme comprised both invited and contributed papers, and in each Symposium 61 papers were read in seven morning and afternoon sessions. At a Joint Session, which was devoted to the study of crystal defects by diffraction methods, particularly with electrons, five further lectures were given.

The names of the speakers and the titles of their papers are listed at the end of this report. A bound volume